Grateful

When I use to go to Alcoholics Anonymous meeting  sometimes people would suggest to make a gratitude list. I struggled with the first one I did. I was reading a post earlier and the person thanked God the bill collectors were calling. I thought I could relate to the bill collectors calling but I had forgot to be thankful about it. I should be thankful because if they are calling the phone is still on.

A couple of months ago my friend was depressed about his financial situation. I told him to read Job. He told me that made him even more depressed. I thought he would feel grateful he was not Job. Job was a wealthy man that loved God. Job lost his wealth his children and his health but he still praised God.  Today I need to learn how to be thankful when I am going through.

I am thankful I can see

I am thankful I can type

I thankful that I can drive to the library

I thankful my children are alive

I am thankful my parents are living

I am thankful I am living

I am thankful I am not homeless today

I am thankful I am sober

I am thankful God Loves me

I am thankful for manna ( the few dollars I have in my pocket)

I am thankful for running water, food to eat

I am thankful the electric is on.

There are so many things to be thankful for

One thought on “Grateful”

  1. It’s true. There are many things to be thankful for, and so many of them we take for granted.

Leave a Reply

