Calm in the Storm

I was driving down the highway thinking I need God to work somethings for me. I remember when I got a flat tire on Covington highway and a stranger brought me a used tire and gave me five dollars. When I told him thank you; he told me no. Thank God.

I guess the difference between then and now was that I was not expecting God to help me. My friend told me God was getting ready to test my faith. This year God has tested my faith and like Peter I have failed. Peter deined Jesus three times in one night. This year I have been fired from two jobs. I am scared I am going to lose the job. I just started Each month I have wondered and worried about how I was going to pay my bills. I went a couple to church last week and the sermon was about faith in uncertain times.

I know I am a control freak. When I was in Ponca city O.K. I hit something at the place I was renting a room. My land lady was coming over . I was trying to say the serenity pray but I could not get the words out I said the short version **ck. I realized that struggled with turning my life and my will over to God as I understood. I have been struggling with this since I embraced sobriety.

Today as I struggled to learn directory assistance, I thought God help and why did you put me at Verizon. I thought I know he has a reason for me being here. I thought I hope he reveals it to me. Then I thought maybe it’s to learn how not to be anxious and to be calm in the storm.

I Told The Storm By Greg O’ Quin
Even though your winds blow
I want you to know
You cause no alarm
Cause I’m safe in his arms
Even though your rain falls
I can still make this call
Let there be peace
Now I can say go away
I command you to move today
Because faith I have a new day
The sun will shine – I will be okay
That’s what I told the storm!

I told the storm to pass
Storm you can’t last
Go away – I command you to move today
Storm – when God speaks
Storm – you’ve got to cease
That’s what I told storm!

Wind stop blowing!
Flood stop flowing!
Lightning stop flashing!
Breakers top dashing!
Darkness go away!
Clouds move away!
That’s what I told the storm!

Death can’t shake me!
My job can’t make me!
Bills can’t break me!
Disease can’t take me!
Enemies can’t drown me!
Cause my Gods surrounds me!
That’s what I told the storm!

Leave a Reply

