“Bring honor to yourself by honoring your parents”

A couple of weeks ago, I did post about Honor your parents. Now I am reading the book of Proverbs. In St. Louis we recently had scandal involving the police chief’s daughter misuse of impounded vehicles. Proverbs 19:13 A foolish son is his father’s ruin, …… When I was a teenager my dad worked for state government as a case worker for child abuse and my behavior was being noticed by that department for breaking curfew. In adult I have caused a lot of problems for my father too. He consigned for a car that was repossessed. I finally gave him half of what he paid. In 2006 he bought me a car that I refused to pay him back for. I did give me the car back.

This month I have spent more time with him. We talked about the guilt I felt. I don’t envy the police chief’s daughter, the whole city knows she cost her dad his job. She has some guilt to deal with.

Hopefully she knows God and realizes that he will forgive her. God has forgiven me and my dad has forgiven me.

More versions from Proverbs

15:20 A wise son brings joy to his father, but a foolish man despises his mother.

17:21 To have a fool for a son brings grief; there is no joy for the father of a fool.
17:25 A foolish son brings grief to his father and bitterness to the one who bore him.
19:13 A foolish son is his father’s ruin, and a quarrelsome wife is like a constant dripping.

Leave a Reply

