Story about a Homeless Man

When I use to go library in the Central  West End. I would always see a homeless man sitting outside.  He would just sit and sketch pictures. One day I was reading the Riverfront Times and there was an article about him.  The article told about how he use to work for Mc Donnell Douglas ( now Boeing). He had been married  and then mental illness started to take over his life. He lost everything. The article talked how his parents would come and visit him and give me a couple of dollars but never too much, because he had been robbed before and hurt.

Reading the article back then  I began to realize that homeless people were not just skid row bums. I still did not identify with them until I had to walk in there shoes. Thank God when I was homeless I had shoes to walk in.

Leave a Reply

