My Testimony

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
SpiritualGraphics.com

This is my 100th post and I thought it should be special. The inspiration came from reading another blog. The writer shared his personal testimony as I read I thought I need to do that on my blog. Yes, I am a copy cat, but the wonderful thing is God has given me my own unique testimony.

My grandparents influenced my spirituality, both my maternal and paternal grandmothers were baptist. Paul ( My grandfather) would read the bible to me when I was little. My grandmother’s friend Ms. Davis would come and do bible study with us. I went to church off and on while I was younger.

During middle school, I started attending church regularly and in 1988 at 16 I got baptized. I wanted God to heal me I was battling depression. I didn’t have anybody to guide me as a young Christian nor did I ask. At 18 I discovered I was an alcoholic, and when I began the 12 step program I began to realize that I didn’t have a relationship with God. Since I didn’t attend church during college when a bible study on campus was organized I decided to attend. I struggled through being sober and then I became saved at 26. I realized I needed a relationship with God in order to continue to be sober. Around this time, I started reading my bible on a daily basis.

I can tell you that I have endured more being sober than being drunk. God has been good to me despite my murmuring and complaining. When I was homeless multiple times he provided me with Manna. God has protected me from seen and unseen danger.

My fellow blogger states that Christians use the term ” saved” but they don’t explain what they were saved from. Since I am giving my testimony I will share what God has saved me from. He saved me from going to hell. He saved me from being an alcoholic. He saved me from HIV/AIDS. I am not HIV positive, but with a promiscuous lifestyle I lead it could have been me. He saved me from having abortions. He saved me. He saved from domestic violence. He from suicide. He saved from going through things I could not handle or endure.
Development and Growth Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

10 thoughts on “My Testimony”

  1. After reading Neil’s testimony I saw that you had written yours. And yours is just as powerful! Great testimony!

    You have been through much but by the grace of God you have made it and are still going strong!

    God bless you Ly!

    (I’ve got to go and make some adjustments to my poll which asked: “are you saved?” Like you said, saved from what?)

  2. Hi Ly Syin – thanks so much for sharing your testimony! I pray that God will use it to inspire others and lead them to Christ as well.

    Blessings to you,

    Neil

  3. What you wrote was really beautiful. And as Christians we do need to know what we are saved from.
    And we need to have a deep, meaningful and tangible relationship with Christ.
    God bless you, And can I ask what is your current situation now and hopes for the future?

  4. I love the phrase, “God has been good to me despite…” [me]. I always marvel why God would even care to save us. Great story!

  5. Hey have you quit your blog? I was wondering as you haven’t posted in a while.

    I know it can be hard because from time to time I ask if I should even bother posting anymore but then you leave a comment and then its worth it.

    Thanks again.

  6. As a thank you for your visit I though I’d pass through your way and I’m glad I did! God bless you for your testimony. Like you, God has saved me from much. I feel as though I was standing on the edge of life and death and He pulled me back. And, still when I hurt, when I struggle, He is there for me. It is this love that presses us to expand ourselves as He expansively loves each of us even in the midst of the most difficult of times…

    God bless you…

  7. am so impressed to read this God is good saving us from seen and unseen is not easy, this point you made here tells me am not in-control of myself but need to make sure the good thing, without me know what am save from and what am still into i can appreciate life. the rest HE will perfect it

  8. What a beautiful, soulful, testimony. The act of contrition, of being thankful for the blessings in our lives is an act of devotion, one that allows beautiful realities to manifest around us. Your journey is an inspiration, thank you for opening your soul.

  9. wow, what an awesome testimony!! i have one as well about how God has healed me from Ewing’s Sarcoma a form of childhood disease i was diagnosed in June/July of 2007 and now I can say theres many more things that have happened, but I know him to be a healer and a keeper! I’m 17 now and a High School Senior, but i plan to write a book about my experience and help bring Hope to others!!

    Thanks & Take Care,
    David J. Patterson

Leave a Reply

