His story is finally about a black man

When I was a little girl and I thought we would have a black president but I didn’t think it would be in my life time. I think it’s interesting that my grandmother grew up a share cropper on Mc Cain property in Mississippi. At time when black men were called negro, colored and nigger.  Meaning that it was socially acceptable to disrespect a black man and now our president elect is a black man. I think this a great quote that sums up the sentiments Obama supporters feel, “Let us realize that the arc of the moral universe is long, but it bends toward justice.”-MLK

The one thing about history is causes you to examine the past. Last night election was historic but also was a reminder of the division this country has dealt with.  Most of the deep south states were republican , it makes you think a little about the civil war and the barbaic past the South has had with race relations.

Obama’s win ones the door for minorities in politics. It gives hope to children of single parent families. It gives hope to the poor. It inspires US to believe a little while longer in a dream deffered.

One thought on “His story is finally about a black man”

  1. I received this comment in a email….Many seem to think that the election of President Obama fulfilled Dr. King’s dream on the mountaintop. Obama is a great black man but the dream has not been fulfilled. “I’m happy tonight. I am not worried about anything. I am not fearing any man. Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord!” We must put our total hope in politics for they corrupt. Our blessed hope is the glorious appearing of our Great God and Savior Jesus Christ.

    I have a dream speech:

    The glory of the Lord shall be revealed and all flesh shall see it together. This is taken from Isaiah. Dr. King dream was of the Kingdom not political.

Leave a Reply

