#Suicide Awareness

Good can come from bad things. Since  Robin Williams death, there has been more discussion about depression and suicide. There have been other celebrity suicides but for some reason more people were impacted by Robin Williams and have begun the conversation about depression and suicide. In 2011 (the most recent year for which data are available), 39,518 suicides were reported, making suicide the 10th leading cause of death for Americans. In that year, someone in the country died by suicide every 13.3 minutes. Suicide Prevention

When I was in high school, at least one person committed suicide each year. I personally there have been times in my life when I was suicidal, and I have dealt with a family member who have attempted suicide and other who have had suicidal thoughts.

 When I was 12 years old, I took an overdose of over the counter pills, prescription pills and wine. I didn’t think it was a suicide attempt, but the nun at the hospital said it was.  During high school, I would usually feel suicidal around my birthday.  After high school, I  no longer had suicidal periods but I dealt with major depression.  At one point after going to a domestic violence shelter for the second time in my life and losing the majority of my belongings I became suicidal. I left worthless and useless.  I wanted to just intentional get hit by a car, what stopped me was I figured my daughters would come run into traffic with me.  I have dealt with depression and even going through domestic violence and homeless, I still have hope.

I had an epiphany last year, I realize despite all the I had been through I continued to have hope.  My children encourage me to have hope. In Cornitnaths it states Love is Patient Love is Kind,  Love endures all things. Love is the essence of Hope.  It continues despite obstacles, and it is the only thing that survives.

 If you do feel suicidal or just depressed, there are a lot of resources out there. Just remember “True joy and happiness are valuable. If one does not survive, no joy and no happiness are obtainable.” quote from L Ron Hubbard

 

Learn about CHADS

Suicide Awareness Voices of Education

 

Leave a Reply

