Never Been Hungry

In my favorite book, the Bible there is a narrative about a widow who fears going hungry during a famine in the land. The prophet instructs her to make prepare food for him and then prepare something for herself and her son ( The Widow and Elijah at Zarephath). They were blessed and able to eat during the famine. It seems famine( hunger) is not new. There is nothing new under the sun.

I have been homeless three times in my life. Despite that fact, I not dealt with hunger.  The first week I realized the importance of being back at the shelter in time for dinner.   My family and had to have candy and chips for dinner. During the first few months of my last homeless experience, I often felt hungry. I was able to get two meals so days, but I never felt full. I was blessed.   One night when I was homeless I shared a bag of Cheetos with my toddler. As we settle into homeless life as much

I have faced food insecurity, at the time what has been available has not been what has been desired, but that is different from being hungry. Having food pantries available in the communities I have lived in is a blessing.  I am also thankful for soup kitchens. I have been blessed by neighbors and friends sharing meals.

In 2010 and 2012 I had the opportunity to feed others. It was blessing to give back and feed homeless women and children.

In Genesis, we see the importance of working together during times of hunger. Joseph came up with a plan to supply Egypt and neighbor countries. Please share a meal whether it is by donating food, time or money to the lunch food pantry or soup kitchen.

  • More than 745,000 children (PDF) in Illinois are at risk of hunger and not getting the food they need to lead healthy, active lives.
  • More than 23 percent of households (PDF) in Illinois with children struggled to afford enough food for themselves and their families in 2010.

NO Kid Hungry in Illinois

Leave a Reply

