God’s Permissible Will

Recently I shared my opinion on whether  Christians should have tattoos. I know lay Christians with tattoos as well as a minister and even bishops. Some had tattoos before they embraced the faith, and some have gotten tattoos afterwards. Leviticus 19:28 has this to say on the issue” Do not cut your bodies for the dead or put tattoo marks on yourselves. I am the LORD. ”  My interpretation of that is God is not in support of tattoos.  His permissible will allows tattoos just like it allows divorce. I have never gotten a tattoo, but I have been divorced twice. I thank God for his mercy. As I was thinking about the should Christians get tattoos. I thought to me what matters more than Christian appearance is Christian action. I believe Christian behavior will have more of an impact than appearance ever could.

I admit it is easy to judge people with tattoos but scripture warns use Mathew 7:3,”Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your eye?” Tattoos are visible, but there are so many other sins we commit against our flesh like gluttony, fornication, adultery, drinking and drugging.

No sin goes without consequences even with God’s permissible will. God will enable us to handle the consequences and be there for us as we endure. Divorce is painful because soul ties are broken. It affects every area of your life. With tattoos, their is pain upon application.  There is risk of allergic relations,  youthful remorse, not to mention another health risk.

Both divorce and tattoos have roots in idolatry. “Idolatry is a matter of the heart—pride, self-centeredness, greed, gluttony, a love for possessions and ultimately rebellion against God.” Read more:http://www.gotquestions.org/idolatry-definition.html#ixzz3GovZJ7LH

Self-centeredness and pride destroy more marriages. Getting a tattoo is rebelling against God, but all other acts that dishonor his will are doing the same thing.

As much I want to believe my body belongs to me I have to admit it on loan from God. It’s not mine. If I lent a friend my car, I would expect them to take off it. Not to just treat it any kind of way. If I borrowed my friend’s car, I would drive with caution because I would like to return it in good condition. I would mark it up with a permanent marker.

God’s word is cutting me today because I have not treated His property well.

Leave a Reply

