Even with my Issues

One of my favorite books by Dr. Wanda Turner is,  “Even with my Issues.” In the book, she challenges individuals to start ministry where they are. She encourages her readers to feel they can still contribute in the midst of going thru.  ” 107 Ways to Give When You Have Nothing to Give” was written by Jana Gamble.  Ms. Gamble is a survivor and an overcomer.  She wrote the book after leaving an abusive relationship. I met Gamble at Dress for Success Midwest Professional Women’s Group. After reading her book, I felt inspired to start volunteering.  That led to me discovering my passion for helping people. I assisted several people with growing their organization before beginning Ladies of Inspiration Success. I was not really ready to launch LOIS, but I felt compelled to organize a Domestic Violence awareness event in 2012.

After going through mental health issues, LOIS was put on the back burner. A friend I had met at women’s group encouraged me to focus on LOIS again. She shared with me that despite whatever I am dealing with I need to push through.  God would bless me for doing what he has called me to do. It feels empowering to give back to others despite having been through domestic violence. I hope in sharing my story I encourage other women to move forward in what they are passionate about.

Our goal is to make 50  personal hygiene baskets for women. Women are struggling with the weight of the world. We just want to encourage them. I  have benefited from resources in the community, and now it is time for me to encourage other women, by giving away baskets.

http://www.gofundme.com/gj2nqk

Leave a Reply

