Fw: Leadership & Personal Development Statement

Personal statement from my Leading Ladies LeadershipSeries application in 2005

My definition of a leader is a person who takes responsibility  for ensuring that a vision becomes a
reality and motivates people to help.   My skills make me a good candidate for the Leadership and
Personal Development series. I have good customer service and  problem-solving skills, but I just need the opportunity to increase my self-esteem  and learn to motivate others.
I have been interested in finding a mentor to help me achieve my personal goals. The  topics that are  going to be presented are things I need to improve on. I have been
researching non-profit boards and how they are organized. I  am interested in becoming a board of trustees member for my Church. I have had leadership experience in the past,  at college ( president Multicultural Organization), and on the job supervisory training in hospitality and Employee Relations Committee (CARE).
The skills I gain at the LAPD series  would help me to be an effective leader  in my church and work community.I have also had a desire to help people. I have always been especially interested in helping women  and   under privileged. The  skills I gain at  the LAPD series would help me  to be an effective leader in my church and work community and pursue my vision of empowering people.

Leave a Reply

